Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday: Worst

August 13, 2009
tags:

This Thursday BTT asks: What’s the worst book you’ve read recently?

That’s easy. It wasn’t super recent, but earlier this year I read Straight Talking by Jane Green. Ugh. That book just rubbed me the wrong way. I’m the kind of person who needs to finish a book/movie/tv show just to see how it ends. Not with this one. I didn’t care how it ended. I wanted nothing more to do with the story. It’s the only book I can remember not finishing in recent years.

What was most disappointing was that I had read two other books by Jane Green, one of which was okay (Jemima J) and one I had really enjoyed (Babyville), so I was expecting good things from her debut novel. Yeah…not so much.

Okay, that’s enough, I don’t even want to talk about it anymore. I’m not even going to include a picture of the cover, it was that bad.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 9:23 am

    I hate it when you really enjoy a writer’s work and then find a stinker in the bunch!

    I chose The Reader by Bernhard Schlink as my most recent bad book. You can check out my thoughts here.

  2. August 13, 2009 9:32 am

    The Alchemist is my all time worst read!

    Booking through recent worst

    • August 13, 2009 9:34 am

      Really? It’s too bad you didn’t like it. I really enjoyed The Alchemist when I read it a while back.

  3. August 13, 2009 9:46 am

    LOL! That’s funny. Here is mine

  4. cjz111 permalink
    August 13, 2009 10:31 am

    I am with you in that I stick with a bomb just to see it explode at the end! I cannot remember the last time I didn’t finish a book because I just didn’t like it – wow!!!

    You can take a peek at my choice at
    http://booktumbling.wordpress.com/2009/08/13/booking-through-thursday/

  5. elliek permalink
    August 13, 2009 10:53 am

    Chick Flick Road Kill by Alicia Rebensdorf

  6. August 13, 2009 11:34 am

    WOW.. it must have really stunk!

    • August 13, 2009 12:12 pm

      I couldn’t warm to the main character or her self-destructing ways at all. I really wanted to like this book, but I just couldn’t.

  7. August 13, 2009 11:55 am

    LOL it was that bad you couldn’t include a cover? wow. I’m curious as to I’m actually going to look this up :P lol.

    • August 13, 2009 12:11 pm

      haha okay, maybe I was being a little harsh there. I’ve found a couple different covers for it online, the one I read had the leopard print cover. Yes, there were times I was embarrassed to be seen with it in public ;)

  8. August 13, 2009 2:14 pm

    Hehe, no cover picture then! :)

  9. August 13, 2009 6:42 pm

    I think I have read one of her books a long, long time ago. I didn’t like it.

    Anyway, here’s mine: http://ivan-ulrich.blogspot.com/2009/08/btt-recent-worst-book.html

  10. August 13, 2009 11:16 pm

    Fine, I’m not going to go and check out the cover either! :P

    It sounds like it would be a waste of my time.

    I haven’t read any of Jane Green – she’s never really been on my radar, and after reading this, I’m thankful for the small things! :)

    • August 14, 2009 11:23 am

      Oh, please don’t base your view of Jane Green on this one book! I really did enjoy the other books of hers that I read. Well, one of them. I guess if you ever feel the need to read something by her, do your research on that title first :)

  11. Schatzi permalink
    August 16, 2009 3:50 pm

    I’m so glad to actually see a decisive response to this BTT! So many of the responses I’ve read have been wishy-washy, with people unable to identify even one book they liked less than the rest. It’s not as though the question was about Worst Books Ever, or anything. Do so any people actually like everything they read the same?

    My recent worst was also a terrible book by an otherwise enjoyable author. I hate that so much.

  12. January 10, 2010 4:15 am

    My worst would have to be “The Dangerous Days of Daniel X” by James Patterson – can’t believe such rubbish can actually get published!

I <3 Comments

