Skip to content

Book #27 – Jane Eyre – update 1

August 13, 2009

jane eyre2“Women are supposed to be very calm generally: but women feel just as men feel; they need exercise for their faculties, and a field for their efforts as much as their brothers do; they suffer from too rigid a restraint, too absolute a stagnation, precisely as men would suffer; and it is narrow-minded in their more privileged fellow-creatures to say that they ought to confine themselves to making puddings and knitting stockings, to playing on the piano and embroidering bags. It is thoughtless to condemn them, or laugh at them, if they seek to do more or learn more than custom as pronounced necessary for their sex.” (p. 110)

Dear Jane: Can we be friends?

There are people nowadays that would have trouble with the above quote, never mind 150 years ago in Victorian England. The great housewife debate continues even now.

I’m about 100 pages into Jane Eyre, although it feels like I’ve hardly made a dent in the 450-page book. Jane is such a wonderful character, I’m actually kind of glad I still have over 300 pages to spend with her.

And wow, is that Mr. Brocklehurst a nasty piece of work. I wouldn’t be sad if he didn’t show up ever again in Jane’s life. I worked up a good scowl while reading the bits of the book he showed up in.

General consensus seems to be that this is a wonderful book. In fact, I’m having a hard time finding someone who didn’t like it (although I’m really not looking that hard).

I’ve got lots more reading to do, but first – this cover of the book. Jane Eyre or Charlotte Brontë? Or both, seeing as Charlotte seemed to have based Jane on herself.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 14, 2009 6:18 pm

    I totally agree. This book is amazing. Jane Eyre is a early feminist and free spirit which is why she is so loveable. It is sad that people still think backwards like that and when I read this book I felt like I was validated for feeling that I deserve to be treated equal and such notions that go along with that! I do think Jane Eyre was more of a autobiography becuase there are just too many similiarites but she does clash it with fiction…so who knows!

I <3 Comments

