Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday (08.11.09)

August 11, 2009

teasertuesdays31

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly event hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. It’s easy enough to play along, just follow the Teaser Tuesdays link for rules.

For my very first Teaser Tuesday I’m going to give a teaser from a book that probably needs no teaser for it to be read.

To this crib I always took my doll: human beings must love something, and, in the dearth of worthier objects of affection, I contrived to find a pleasure in loving and cherishing a faded graven image, shabby as a miniature scarecrow. It puzzles me now to remember with what absurd sincerity I doated on this little toy; half-fancying it alive and capable of sensation.

– pg. 29, Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

I love that Jane calls her doll a “graven image.” It makes the existence of doll seem wholly unethical, something that would have been more than frowned upon to posses. But at the same time something that Jane would have found very much desirable. 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 11, 2009 7:28 pm

    Sounds really good! I’ve been wanting to read Jane Eyre for awhile now – I’m thinking of picking it for one of my 1% Well-Read books. You can check out my teaser here.

  2. August 12, 2009 10:18 am

    Yay! I love Jane Eyre!

  3. August 13, 2009 1:03 pm

    Jane Eyre is one of my favourite classics. I had to read it for a university class, and it was the only required reading I enjoyed that semester!

  4. Schatzi permalink
    August 16, 2009 4:02 pm

    Oh, I love that bit about her doll. She’s such a relatable little girl.

I <3 Comments

