Skip to content

Booking Through Thursday – Seriously

August 6, 2009
tags:

kindnessThis Thursday BTT asks: What is the most serious book you’ve read recently?

My answer would be A Complicated Kindness by Miriam Toews. As I mentioned in my other posts about the book, it’s about a girl, Nomi, growing up in a small, strict Mennonite town. While the book starts off with plenty of chuckles, you soon learn that there is much pain and confusion behind those comments. It was one of the most heartbreaking stories I’ve read. I had never realized before how much I had taken for granted the fact that I grew up in an environment that encouraged me to discover who I was as an individual.

When I finished A Complicated Kindness I didn’t think I would read it again because it was so intense. But now that it’s been a little while, I would definitely read it again. And it’s one of the few books I’ve read recently that I would very highly recommend.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 6, 2009 2:48 pm

    Looks seriously good to me :) I’ll have to check it out. Here’s my response.

I <3 Comments

