Skip to content

Book #23 – This Charming Man – the end

July 18, 2009

I finished This Charming Man this morning, and once again Marian Keyes did not disappoint. Keyes tells the stories of 4 different woman whose lives have all been shaped by one man, Paddy de Courcy.

Lola was an delight to read. She was Paddy girlfriend, until he announced his plans to get married, which didn’t include her. Lola’s sections are written diary-style, and follow her out to the small town she’s retreated to after her life in Dublin comes undone. Actually, her friends and co-worker have banished her from Dublin because she has become such a mess. 

Grace is the smart, confident, go-getter journalist and the driving force behind the combined story line. Although she knew Paddy when they were teenagers, he has managed to continue to weasel his way into her life time after time, and never with pleasant results. Grace’s story provided a good, solid counterpart to Lola’s seemingly fluffy story. 

I had a hard time feeling much sympathy for Marnie, Grace’s twin sister. Often I wished I could take her by the shoulders, give her a shake and say “Grow Up!” It was frustrating to read about someone who wouldn’t do anything to help herself. She blamed her situation of everyone around her (including Paddy, who she hadn’t seen for years), but mostly gave into the belief that this was just they way she was and that she didn’t need any help.

And lastly, Alicia, the fiancee. We’re only given her side of the story a couple times, and most of the information we find out about her is supplied by Grace. It appears that all the years of waiting and compromising and hurting her friends has finally paid off. She has the one and only Paddy de Courcy all to herself.

I love that Marian Keyes deals with hard subjects in her books. Sure, there are the superficial flings, the shopping sprees, the parties, but everything revolves around something serious that the characters need to deal with. 

I highly recommend This Charming Man to anyone who is a fan of chick lit. My rating for the book: 8/10.

There are a few books left in my to-read pile, but I have no idea what I’m going to read next. Suggestions?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2009 1:53 am

    Have just finished reading the book. Despite its flaws, it’s still a leg up from most chick lit.

  2. November 2, 2009 10:48 am

    I would really reccomend you to try reading Marian Keyes’ “Last Chance Saloon”, which is probably my favourite of her books. It is a story about three women and their gay friend, and the lives they lead. My favourite character is Catherine, who is a really interesting person. I think you might like it, it is chick lit, but also more than just superficial gossiping and shopping.

    • November 2, 2009 11:06 am

      Thanks for the recommendation! This one has been on my to-read list for a while, but I haven’t got around to it yet.

      My favourite Keyes book so far has been Anybody Out There. It’s so heartbreaking to read, but I really like how she looks at dealing with loss and grief.

I <3 Comments

