Skip to content

Book #23 – This Charming Man

July 9, 2009

The last couple books I’ve read have been pretty emotional, so it seems to be time for some good ol’ chick lit. And in my pile of books I found This Charming Man by Marian Keyes.

I read my first Keyes book last fall after a series of disappointing chick lit reads. I had borrowed Watermelon from a friend, and it was like a breath of fresh air. Some of that good Irish air. Or at least what I imagine Irish air would be like. Watermelon is the first in Keyes’ Walsh family series; each book in the series focus on a different Walsh sister. Since then I’ve read one other Walsh book (Anybody Out There?) and two non-Walsh books (The Other Side of the Story and Sushi For Beginners). While I’ve liked the Walsh books the best, all Keyes’ books have stood out for me from the chick lit pack.

Which brings me back to This Charming Man. The book starts with: “Everyone remembers where they were the day they heard that Paddy de Courcy was getting married.” Mr. Courcy is a top politician and one of Ireland’s most eligible bachelors. We get 4 different view points (something Keyes is very good at) to the news of his engagement. First up – Lola, the girlfriend…but not the fiance.

I started reading this afternoon, and I love the style of writing Keyes uses for Lola. Actually, come to think of it, it reminds me a lot of how the friend who lent me Watermelon blogs..

One Comment leave one →
  1. Abi Tight permalink
    October 8, 2009 4:48 am

    I’d love to know what you think of my book in the making
    http://www.butterflydiaries.wordpress.com...
    Good Luck with your blog

I <3 Comments

