Skip to content

Book #21 – My Sister’s Keeper – the end

July 3, 2009

It wasn’t supposed to end that way.

I won’t say what happened, in case anyone who drifts by this blog doesn’t want the ending spoiled. And believe me, I wouldn’t want to spoil it for anyone. But if there are hints, I just can’t help it.

Maybe I don’t want to say anything partly because I don’t want to believe that’s how My Sister’s Keeper actually ended. But that’s how life is sometimes, right? You’re headed in one direction, making all the right preparations for the expected outcome, no matter how difficult you know that outcome will be once you have to face it. Then something happens, and you change course. At the last moment everything changes. All your plans no longer matter. Your preparations seem like wasted time.

Jodi Picoult tells the stories from a variety of viewpoints, 6 in all. At times all the back & forth and the many back stories that each person tells seems to slow down the momentum of the actual story. But they helped show that although no one knew exactly how things would pan out, everyone had a pretty good idea of what to expect at the end.

Also, I’m sure everyone can related to at least one of the characters and their point of view. For me, it’s the siblings of Kate (the girl with cancer). Although not nearly to the extent of the book, I can understand the effects of being a sibling of someone who needs extra care. I can completely relate to the feeling that sometimes, no matter how big your problems are to you, in the larger picture of the family, they don’t even show up on the radar. Again, that’s just how life is sometimes, right?

I’m definitely interested to see how this was made into a movie. There are so many back stories, so many unsaid motives, I don’t know how those will play out on screen.

My official rating for My Sister’s Keeper: 8.3

Next up, either Lullabies for Little Criminals by Heather O’Neill, or A Complicated Kindness by Miriam Toews, I haven’t quite decided yet.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sig aka Mom permalink
    July 4, 2009 11:06 am

    Sometimes the biggest surprise in the book is when it becomes a mirror.

    Just a warning – both books you’re considering will bring evoke more emotion.

  2. joellelabelle permalink
    July 18, 2009 7:12 pm

    did you see the movie? If so, how do you feel about the way they chose to end the story versus the book?

    • July 19, 2009 5:47 pm

      I haven’t seen the movie yet, but yes, I did hear that they changed the ending. What I liked about the book (and also drove me mad) is that it ended completely different than you thought it would. I kind of want to see the movie now just to see how the new ending changes the whole story.

  3. joellelabelle permalink
    July 19, 2009 8:34 pm

    The movie is more like what you would expect. Have you read any other Jodi Picoult books? They are all similar in terms of style. That’s the reason why I wont read her stuff anymore…none of the books end well…they just end abruptly or sad. I like books that wrap things up..it makes me feel satisfied.

I <3 Comments

