Skip to content

Fav Books and Tunes of 2013!

January 2, 2014

Hi strangers!

I don’t know about you, but I have a hard time remembering the details of any book I’ve read more than, say, a week ago. Blogging really helped with that problem – having to think through and put into words what I liked or disliked about a book and then having those words to look back at later. But since I don’t have a blog full of 2013 reviews to consult, I thought I’d put together a quick list of my favourites of the year so Future Alita will at least be able to remember which were the good ones.

Favourite books read in 2013 (alphabetical order)

favs2013_1

I read this during the Spring 24hr Readathon. Nothing like starting the day by weeping into your oatmeal! (And not the first time I’ve done this to myself. You’d think I’d learn.)

Speaking of weeping. One of the few I actually reviewed in 2013, this book is amazing and tore my heart to shreds.

Another book I actually reviewed! What! This book was such a lovely surprise – filled with magic and wonderful characters – I wanted to read it again as soon as it was over. Instead I’ve been devouring (pun unintended) Heather Dixon’s blog StoryMonster.

Fantastic concept, fantastically carried out.

I read this on family vacation with my husband’s family and giggled the entire way through. Then came home and lent it to all my friends.

favs2013_2

Aliens attack! But this book is so much more than just aliens attacking. The only thing I didn’t like about The 5th Wave was that I didn’t realize it was the start of a series and thought the ending left a few things unanswered. But of course I will be reading the next book when it comes out. Of course I will. (Anyone know *when* it comes out??)

Super cute book about a movie star in a small town that reminded me of Win A Date With Tad Hamilton but also not quite.

I saw the movie first and loved it and its soundtrack. Read the book shortly after and loved it as well but was glad I saw the movie first so I could enjoy its light-heartedness. Because the book is definitely a lot less light-hearted. If you’re interested, I posted more thoughts on the two eons ago.

This started out all fun and quirky and then became very serious before I knew it was happening. Overall, very good.

Teenaged girl’s spiral into madness! Although at times uncomfortable to read, I couldn’t put it down. Plus, bonus points for being set in my city.

10 most listend to tracks – according to last.fm
musicfavs20131. The 1975 – Fallingforyou
2. The 1975 – Chocolate
3. Nolita Knights – Distance Kills
4. M83 vs Ellie Goulding – Anything Could Happen At Midnight
5. Nolita Knights – Let’s Try
6. The 1975 – Sex
7. Luke Sital-Singh – Dark
8. Little Comets – Jennifer
9. Farewell J.R – Night Wolves
10. The 1975 – Me

What were your highlights of 2013? Books, music, movies, tv shows..?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2014 2:14 pm

    I have Entwined on my bookshelf. The 5th Wave was good. I listened to it on audio. I hope you keep blogging!

    • January 7, 2014 10:56 am

      I hope you’re able to give Entwined a read soon! It’s very good.

  2. January 2, 2014 3:55 pm

    I’ve been meaning to read Entwined for awhile now. I got it cheap on my Nook along time ago!

    Warm Bodies. I enjoyed the movie a lot better. It was more fun and not quite as preachy as I felt the book was.

    Here are my highlights if you have time or desire to check them out! Good to see you posting!

  3. January 5, 2014 2:01 pm

    I’m making myself a little playlist of your favorite songs! So I can listen to them in my car next week.

  4. January 6, 2014 1:55 pm

    I refreshed your page in the hope of a new post and *poof* it was there as if by magic! :D
    Between Shades of Gray is a book I have wanted to read for so long! I think I should get a copy! Once again – happy you are back :D

    • January 7, 2014 11:01 am

      Like magic! Yes, definitely get yourself a copy of Between Shades of Gray. It’s a book you’re going to want to hold on to (quite literally, actually) once you’ve finished.

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

