Skip to content

Fall 2013 Readathon Updates

October 12, 2013

deweys-readathonbutton5:00am – Hour 1 (The ‘Am I Wake Yet?’ Edition)

IT’S READATHON DAY! IT’S READATHON DAY!

While I am feeling extremely unprepared for this readathon, I assure you have I been looking forward to it for months. Life has been nuts and sometimes you just need to say ‘no’ to things so you can unwind, relax, and hang out with a couple hundred other readers on the internet.

My plan for the day is to work through books I’ve already started. I’m currently 1/2 way through Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson, 1/3 through The Diviners by Libba Bray (so long!), and just barely started Mansfield Park by Jane Austen. I also just picked up How To Say Goodbye In Robot by Natalie Standiford, so maybe I will give that a go.

Anyway, this will be the post I update throughout the day, so feel free to check back every now & then and scroll to the bottom to see how things are going. Or, as always, you can find me on Twitter.

Looking for more info on the Readathon? Click HERE

EDIT 5:05am – I’m up! (I am going to need a nap soon)

6:27am – Hour 2 (The ‘Introduction Questionnaire’ Edition)

1) What fine part of the world are you reading from today?
Chilly Western Canada
2) Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to?
I’ve had Scarlett Fever on hold for a while, so I’m happy I’m able to get back into it!
3) Which snack are you most looking forward to?
At this moment, first breakfast… which is coming up right after this :)
4) Tell us a little something about yourself!
Books. Music. That’s pretty much it :)
5) If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to?
This is my 9th (!!) readathon, and the first time I haven’t signed up as an official cheerleader. I’m still planning on sprinkling comments around the readathon blogosphere, but would also like to participate in some mini challenges. Like this one! I can’t remember the last time I did the Intro questionnaire :)

8:18am – Hour 4 (The ‘I <3 NYC’ Edition)

IMAG1610Let the food pics begin!

I’m really enjoying Scarlett Fever. Not only because Maureen Johnson’s writing is fun to read, but also because of the setting. I love New York. So much. I was back there two weeks ago and this book is helping me feel like I’ve returned for a day.

Reading: Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson
Munching: Oatmeal with chia seeds, almonds, craisins, almond milk; David’s Organic Breakfast Tea
Listening: early morning silence

Books finished: 0
Total pages read: 117
Total reading time: 2hrs 33min
Total challenge / comment time: 0hrs 19min

11:15am – Hour 7 (The ‘I Finished A Book’ Edition)

IMAG1615-1I finished a book! Yes, it helped that I was already 1/2 finished it when I started this morning, but it still feels good to have something on the Finished pile. I’m not sure I like how Scarlett Fever ended, but I’m still sad it’s over and my time hanging out with Scarlett and the Martins is over for now. Why is there no book 3 yet??

Reading: Trying to decide what to read next! The Diviners or How to Say Goodbye in Robot?
Munching: Eggs, plum slices, hot chocolate with hazelnut liqueur
Listening: More silence. I should put some music on at some point…

Books finished: 1
*Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson
Total pages read: 187
Total reading time: 4hrs 1min
Total challenge / comment time: 0hrs 53min

5:36pm – Hour 13 (The ‘Ate some food, read a book, did a mid-event survey’ Edition)

IMAG1618-1I finished my second book! It’s our book club pick for November so I hope the others all read it because I really want to hear what everyone has to say about it. There will be Things to discuss. And it was a great pick for readathon day. I didn’t want to do anything else until it was finished.

I hope everyone is having a great readathon day!

Reading: Time for The Diviners!
Munching: Lunch – BBQ Chicken pizza. Snack: Chips & salsa, wine.
Listening: Is There Somebody Who Can Watch You by The 1975

Books finished: 2
*Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson
*How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford
Total pages read: 463
Total reading time: 8hrs 51min
Total challenge / comment time: 0hrs 53min

Mid-Event Survey Time!

1) How are you doing? Sleepy? Are your eyes tired?
Doing surprisingly well, haven’t needed a nap yet today. But I expect the tiredness will come later
2) What have you finished reading?
Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson and How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford
3) What is your favorite read so far?
Probably Scarlett Fever.
4) What about your favorite snacks?
Hmmm… the wine was good. I definitely didn’t stock up on as many tasty snacks as I have for previous ‘thons!
5) Have you found any new blogs through the readathon? If so, give them some love!
I’ve only visited a few blogs today, but this is one of my favourite blog names I’ve come across: Are You Sitting Comfortably?… Then we’ll begin

10:01pm – Hour 18 (The ‘I bid you goodnight’ Edition)

IMAG1624-1-1Time for me to bow out. I’ve had a lovely day of reading that, as usual, went by way too quickly. See you around next time!

Reading: The Diviners by Libba Bray
Munching: Eggnog & brandy, apple pie cupcake
Listening: Broken Brights by Angus Stone (Which I usually just think of as a nice, mellow song, but now, reading The Diviners, the line “Is that the old man walking in the dark” is freaking me out a bit.)

Books finished: 2
*Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson
*How to Say Goodbye in Robot by Natalie Standiford
Total pages read: 568
Total reading time: 11hrs 36min
Total challenge / comment time: 1hrs 42min

14 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2013 6:46 am

    LOL – the intro questionnaire is about the only mini-challenge I reliably manage to participate in. I’m going to have to look back and see what number readathon I’m on – I’m sure I’m getting up there – 9 is pretty impressive!

    Hope your day is full of great reading! =D

    • October 12, 2013 8:39 am

      There’s a good chance the intro questionnaire will end up being my only mini-challenge of the day ;)
      It’s amazing how quickly the readathons stack up – it certainly doesn’t feel like that many!

  2. October 12, 2013 9:14 am

    I just finished breakfast, but your oats look yummy, and now I’m hungry again. Ok…I need to get off the computer and back to reading right now, or I’m going to end up having a second breakfast!

    • October 12, 2013 11:30 am

      If it weren’t almost noon here I would be considering 3rd breakfast. mmmmm breakfast foods….

  3. October 12, 2013 9:39 am

    It’s almost 6pm here in the UK and your breakfast post just made me hungry! I hope you have a great day with your 9th readathon, wow!

    • October 12, 2013 11:30 am

      Breakfast foods work at all times of the day, I say :) Especially on readathon days!

  4. October 12, 2013 10:35 am

    I was thinking about reading a few pages of The Diviners today. What do you think so far?

    • October 12, 2013 11:28 am

      It is long. But also good. It has a great creepiness factor, perfect for this time of year. And apparently it just gets creepier as it goes along.

  5. October 12, 2013 10:38 am

    I think this is only the second time I skipped the Read-a-thon questionnaire myself! Good luck on your ninth Read-a-thon – glad you’re enjoying Scarlett Fever so far!

    • October 12, 2013 11:28 am

      Uhoh, I just realized I haven’t been checking for any other mini challenges. Haha. There’s too much to keep up with on readathon days!

  6. October 12, 2013 11:17 am

    Yay, have fun! The Diviners is MASSIVE; if you can finish it during the ‘thon you should win a medal. :P

    • October 12, 2013 11:27 am

      I’m already 200 pages into it, so I have a bit of a head start. Otherwise I wouldn’t even dream of it! And still there’s a lot of it left.

  7. October 12, 2013 11:34 am

    Your hot chocolate sounds delicious!

  8. December 8, 2013 8:39 am

    Checking in on you – hope you are still around ;)

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 607 other followers

