Skip to content

Spring 2013 Read-a-thon Updates

April 27, 2013

I’ve said it before and I’m gonna have to say it again: if there’s one thing that can force me out of a blogging hiatus, it’s the 24 Readathon. I’ll be updating this post with my progress, so if you’re interested in seeing how my 8th Readathon (whaaaaat??) is going, check back here throughout the day.

Or come find me on Twitter.

More info on the Readathon HERE

5:00am – Hour 1 (The ‘I Might Be Awake, But Probably Not’ Edition)
I usually set my alarm for 5am on Readathon days (and wake up before it goes off), but since I’m feeling pretty run down from the week, that may not happen this time. But I should be up and about shortly! In the meantime, let’s look at the books I have lined up for the day.

I used to get a bunch of short, quick books from the library in preparation for readathon day, which was great for me reading stats, but not so good for my TBR pile. So this year I’m going to stick with books that I already have on hand. This is what I’ve pulled from the TBR shelves:

ReadathonApr13_Books

Black Hole Sun by David Macinnis Gill (I tried to start it a while ago, but immediately put it down again because I just wasn’t feeling it at that moment. But I’ve been reassured since then that it really is good, so maybe this is the time to give it another go.)
Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson (I’ve already started this, so it will probably be one of my focus books of the day.)
The Root Cellar by Janet Lunn (One of my favourites from when I was a kid. Picked for today for no other reason than because it is short-ish.)
A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (Depending on how much I want to cry. But I might even start with it.)
Sabriel by Garth Nix (Book club pick, so it should probably be another focus book. I have started it, meaning I have read the prologue.)

That’s it! What’s in your readathon stack? What are you starting with? And, most importantly, what are you having for breakfast?

5:08am Edit: A few minutes late, but I am up and snuggled into my blanket nest with my first book. Let’s do this!

IMG_3607

You have every right to look scared of that monster, Eeyore.

7:35am – Hour 3 (The ‘It Feels Earlier Than Usual’ Edition)
So far this morning I’ve had first breakfast and my first nap. And am more than half way through my first book. I think we’re off to a good start.

Reading: A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Munching: Hot cereal & tea
Listening: nothing but wonderful early morning silence

Books finished: 0
Total pages read: 130
Total reading time: 1hrs 49min
Total cheer comments: 0
Total naps: 1

.

.

8:48am – Hour 4 (The ‘I Finished My First Book’ Edition)
… and I’m still drying my tears. I need to take a little mental break before moving on to my next book, which will probably be Suite Scarlett. I don’t have any new food pictures to share with you (although my stomach is starting to rumble for second breakfast), so instead here’s a pic of my reading spot for the day.

IMG_3605

Hooray for blanket nests!

Reading: in between books
Munching: nothing! gasp!
Listening: construction next door.

Books finished: 1
*A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Total pages read: 205
Total reading time: 2hrs 37min
Total cheer comments: 0
Total naps: 1

.

.

11:00am – Hour 7 (The ‘Second Breakfast’ Edition)
Now that 2nd breakfast has been eaten and I’m comfortably into my 2nd book, it’s time to get to some cheering. I hope you’re all having a great Readathon day! Thanks to everyone who has stopped by and commented this morning :)

Reading: Suite Scarlett by Maureen JohnsonIMAG0872-1
Munching: Eggs, toast, back bacon, tea
Listening: Youth by Daughter

Books finished: 1
*A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Total pages read: 266
Total reading time: 2hrs 24min
Total cheer comments: 0
Total naps: 1

1:34pm – Hour 9 (The ‘I’ve Changed Out Of My PJs’ Edition)
I’ve changed into Real Clothes (read: yoga pants & a t-shirt) and somehow that has made me feel a little more energized and pumped for the day. Having lunch probably helped, too.

I’m really really enjoying Suite Scarlett. I actually started it earlier in the week but was having trouble getting into it. I’m so glad I decided to push through it today! Not only is it a fun read, it’s making me want to go back to New York like crazy. Like, now. If I suddenly disappear from the readathon this afternoon, it’s because I’ve booked a last minute flight and am packing my bags.

IMAG0873-1Reading: Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson
Munching: Sandwich, chips
Listening: A Lack of Color by Death Cab for Cutie

Books finished: 1
*A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Total pages read: 322
Total reading time: 5hrs 22min
Total cheer comments: 12
Total naps: 1

3:36pm – Hour 11 (The ‘Snack Time’ Edition)
IMAG0875-1I’ve hit the ‘heathy snack’ portion of the day. Still chocolate, popcorn, and leftover birthday champagne to look forward to this evening!

I’m still working away at Suite Scarlett. Right now I’m hoping I can finish this and at least start another book before I pack it in by Hour 18 tonight. I think that’s doable!

Reading: Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson
Munching: veggies, pita chips, hummus
Listening: Heavy machinery working away next door

Books finished: 1
*A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
Total pages read: 375
Total reading time: 6hrs 41min
Total cheer comments: 23
Total naps: 1

8:46pm – Hour 16 (The ‘I’ve Started On The Champagne’ Edition)
IMAG0880-1Whew. As usual, this day has flown by. But I feel like I’ve been productive since my last update. I worked out, read in the bath, finished going through my cheerleading list, had dinner, finished my second book, and successfully opened a bottle of champagne without causing any damage to myself or our home.

Instead of starting something brand new, I think I’m going to move to Sabriel next. It’s our book club book for May and I should probably read past the first 15 pages.

I’ll only last another hour or two, but I should be back for one last update!

Reading: in between books
Munching: veggie beef nachos, champange
Listening: Bloodflood by Alt-J

Books finished: 2
*A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
*Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson
Total pages read: 527
Total reading time: 9hrs 16min
Total cheer comments: 40
Total naps: 1

11:12pm – Hour 19 (The ‘Time To Say Goodnight’ Edition)

This evening has degenerated into watching How I Met Your Mother on Netflix, so I’m calling it a night. Thanks for the blog comments and twitter chats and general bookish merriment. Thank you to the organizers and co-hosts – this event wouldn’t be nearly as amazing without you.

I’ll see you all in the Fall!

Final Read-a-thon Stats:
Books finished: 2 books + started a 3rd
*A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
*Suite Scarlett by Maureen Johnson
*Started Sabriel by Garth Nix (started)

Total pages read: 561
Total reading time: 10hrs 41min
Total cheer comments: 44
Total cheering time: 1hrs 49min
Total naps: 1

Total participation time: 12hrs 13min (not including Twitter time, working on blog posts, etc)

25 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2013 5:21 am

    Woohoo! Read-a-thon!!!

  2. April 27, 2013 5:28 am

    Good luck with the read-a-thon! Looks like you have some good choices there. I’m starting with Linwood Barclay’s No Time for Goodbye, a mystery/thriller that should keep me going for a while.

    • April 27, 2013 1:33 pm

      Thanks! Good luck to you, too! A thriller is a great idea for readathon day – can’t really go wrong anything that will keep you engrossed.

  3. April 27, 2013 5:40 am

    Yay, I loved Sabriel! Hope you’re enjoying your 8th readathon, I reckon I must be on that or more too. So, so addictive. :)

    • April 27, 2013 1:32 pm

      They really are! As soon as one is done, I have the next one in my calendar already :)

  4. April 27, 2013 6:28 am

    Good luck! I read A Monster Calls in one sitting, so it’s a perfect choice for a read-a-thon. I hope you like it. It did make me cry, but not too much. I love Maureen Johnson, but haven’t read Suite Scarlett. Happy reading!

    • April 27, 2013 1:32 pm

      A Monster Calls was wonderful – I’m so glad I decided to start with it today. But it definitely turned me into a weeping mess.

  5. April 27, 2013 7:29 am

    There are few things I love more in this world than a books-and-blanket nest. Happy reading!

  6. April 27, 2013 7:48 am

    Looks like you’re having a good day so far. I woke up late this morning, but so far am having a good time. I hope you have a wonderful day!

    • April 27, 2013 1:30 pm

      Thanks! I totally understand the late start – I had a harder time getting out of bed this morning than I usually do on readathon days.

  7. April 27, 2013 10:16 am

    Good luck. That chair looks mad comfy.

    • April 27, 2013 1:29 pm

      It is a pile of nearly all the pillows and blankets we own, and it was my best decision of the weekend.

  8. April 27, 2013 11:40 am

    All your pictures of food make me hungry. Keep up the good work. Thanks for commenting on my blog.

    • April 27, 2013 1:28 pm

      All the snacking is one of the things I look forward to most on readathon days ;)

  9. April 27, 2013 1:21 pm

    Love your blog! Have a great readathon :)

  10. April 27, 2013 1:23 pm

    You are epic. I love the pics of food, it reminds me that I’ve actually got to go eat. LOL. I also like your scoring, haha. May I steal it? Keep going, you’re awesome, even though it’s kind of sad you had to start at 5 am. I got to start at 8. Perks of being a Canadian!

    Stay strong; eyes open!

    - Cheerleader Nova

    • April 27, 2013 1:27 pm

      Re: scoring – go for it! I’m pretty sure I borrowed the original format from someone else and then adapted it over many readathons.

      Nice to meet another Canadian :) And yes, being a west-coaster means my start time is 5am, but I actually don’t mind that too much. Even though I get sleepy, the early hours are some of my favourite reading hours.

  11. April 27, 2013 2:22 pm

    I love your pictures! :) It looks like you are having a good read-a-thon. We’ve both scored a nap so far. I’m just now getting good with my lunch. Enjoy the rest of your books!

  12. April 27, 2013 6:19 pm

    You are a true read-a-thon vet and your snack/meal pictures show it! Yum! You are making great progress as well. Happy Reading!

    –Janel #TeamTiger

  13. April 27, 2013 10:15 pm

    Your snacks look amazing! I’m jealous! Happy read-a-thon day and keep up the reading!

  14. April 28, 2013 12:59 am

    Wow! You’re doing fantastic! I own Black Hole Sun and Suite Scarlett and also really want to read A Monster Calls. Keep up the awesome work and thanks so much for stopping by my blog! :)

  15. April 28, 2013 10:47 am

    Wow, that’s a really complete update! Really enjoyed it :)
    I never read any of those books but I’ll look them up

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 607 other followers

