Skip to content

Snippet Thoughts: Madness Underneath, Cinder, This Is What Happy…, Cinders & Sapphires

March 26, 2013

MadnessUnderneathThe Madness Underneath by Maureen Johnson

The only other Maureen Johnson books I’ve read are the Little Blue Envelope ones, which I thought were okay. But the Shades of London books feel much more like books the Maureen Johnson of Twitter fame would write. I highly enjoyed the first in the series, The Name of the Star, and The Madness Underneath did not disappoint as a follow up. Well, until Maureen Johnson RIPPED my HEART out. Let’s just say that finishing it at my desk during my lunch break was a bad idea. I will be on tenderhooks waiting for the next book in this series to hit the streets.

Source: Borrowed (and now own)

ScarletScarlet by Marissa Meyer

Another second in a series that I had high hopes for. I didn’t quite enjoy this as much as Cinder, but it was still very enjoyable. Still being attached to where Cinder left off, I had wanted more of Cinder & Kai’s story. But Scarlet eventually won me over. Like in Cinder, I liked how Meyer reinvented the Little Red Riding Hood story and how characters overlapped from both Cinderella and the upcoming fairy tales. Looking forward to Cress – although it’s a million years away yet!

Source: Borrowed ARC

what happy looks likeThis Is What Happy Looks Like by Jennifer E. Smith

I’ve been meaning to read The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight for forever and now I’m even more certain I need to read it. Because This is What Happy Looks Like was completely adorable and filled with happy tinglies. Ellie was a relatable, regular girl who was understandably jumpy about her quiet life being disrupted. And I thought that Graham was a great mix between awkward with being a celebrity and in love with being an actor. Definitely check this one out – it will make a great summertime book.

Want a bit more? Caitlin & I put together some questions for Wilbur, Graham’s pet pig: Wilbur the Pig, Interviewed!

(All through reading it, it kept reminding me of a movie I’ve seen about a movie star in a small town – I’m thinking maybe Win A Date With Tad Hamilton? But it could have been something else. What other movies can you think of with a similar premise?)

Source: Borrowed ARC

Cinders-and-SapphiresCinders & Sapphires by Leila Rasheed

This book was like Downton Abbey, but with less substance. Downton Lite, if you will. Told from multiple points of view, it is filled with the great big cast of characters you’ve come to expect in a turn of the century English manor. You’ve got your proud heiress struggling with duty vs passion, your conniving ladies maid, your exceptionally proper yet loveable butler, and, of course, your Indian gentlemen primed to ruin it all. I actually liked the downstairs storylines more than the upstairs ones, and wish more time would have been spent on some of the upstairs/downstairs crossovers. This is the first in a series and although it had all sorts of potential, it lacked the kind of edge needed for me to what to continue with subsequent books.

Source: ARC from ALA

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2013 6:47 am

    I liked The Name of the Star and will probably pick up The Madness Underneath soon. Well, as soon as I can get it from my library anyway.

  2. March 26, 2013 12:04 pm

    I want to read the Name of the Star!

  3. March 27, 2013 2:40 am

    This Is What Happy Looks Like sounds like fun – excellent title…

  4. March 27, 2013 6:23 am

    Great reviews.

    She ripped your heart out? OK now I’m intrigued. :)

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 607 other followers

