Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (04.29.12)

April 29, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Always Gold by Radical Face (Months later, this song continues to give me chills)
2. Some Nights by fun.
3. We Don’t Eat by James Vincent McMorrow
4. Psychasthenia by William Fitzsimmons
5. We Are Young by fun.

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

I picked up two library books last week:

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart (for book club)

Tubers by Mark Jowett. Short stories! I love me some short stories (fyi – if there are any short story anthologies you particularly love, LET ME KNOW! I need more short stories in my life.)

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in April by Cindy @ Cindy’s Love of Books.

On Thursday Caitlin & I drove two and a half hours…

to go back to high school.

It just so happened that three wonderful authors were also hanging out there.

Nina LaCour

Gayle Forman, Nina LaCour, and Stephanie Perkins were at [the fancy shmancy] Roosevelt High School in Seattle for the last stop of their YA or Bust tour. (Seriously, that school was way fancier than either of the high schools Caitlin & I went to.) I hadn’t read anything by Gayle Forman or Nina LaCour, but I LOVED both Anna & the French Kiss and Lola & the Boy Next Door, so I fan-girled a bit over Stephanie Perkins.

Stephanie Perkins & Gayle Forman

All three authors answered questions and talked about their books and inspiration and gave advice for about an hour or so. I don’t know if it was just because they were at the end of their tour or what, but all three seemed to be having a great time with each other. And it’s abundantly clear that they all really admire each other. Through their bantering and answering questions, we learned a lot of cool things about their books. Like, did you know that Stephanie wrote Lola before Anna? And that the inspiration for Anna came from a dream?

After the Q&A portion of the evening, they did a signing and spent a lot of time chatting with everyone who had come out to the event. They were all super friendly and personable, and they are all now on my list of authors I’d like to have coffee with.

I had brought my well-read copies of Anna and Lola along to be signed (Anna still has sand in it from when my sister read it in Hawaii in December), but I bought If I Stay by Gayle Forman and The Disenchantments by Nina LaCour at the event. I can’t wait to read both of them!

All in all, it was a great evening and definitely worth the drive! (As were the yogurt covered raisins I picked up at Target before the event.)

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Since I didn’t do one of these posts last week (due to Readathon burnout), this is what I’ve read in the last two weeks.

Finished:
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
The House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
Princess in Love by Meg Cabot (Readathon)
A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle (Readathon)
What You Wish For: Stories & Poems for Darfur (1/2 Readathon)
The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery

Posted:
The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
Soundtrack Saturday: The Sky is Everywhere

Currently Reading: I finished two today, so I’m currently in between books.

Up Next: Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

Also, if you’re like me and very much behind on reviews, join me in doing a Reviewathon this coming weekend! All the info is right HERE.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. cindyloveofbook permalink
    April 29, 2012 5:15 pm

    How awesome does that author event sound? Isn’t it fun going back to high school? I am so excited to meet you in a months time. Did you know that Stephanie P will be at BEA? So excited.

  2. April 29, 2012 8:31 pm

    What a fun week you had! The author event looks so cool. Wrinkle In Time is still waiting for me… wish I could read faster :)

  3. Brunette Librarian permalink
    April 29, 2012 9:06 pm

    I am so jealous of your week!! Looks like you had an AWESOME time :)

    Happy reading this week!
    What are YOU reading??

  4. April 29, 2012 9:09 pm

    Ooh what an exciting author event!!! And looks like you finished up a ton of books, which always makes a week great in my eyes :-)

  5. April 29, 2012 9:53 pm

    I have a huge stack of reviews written but if I posted them all, I’d flood everyones blog readers!

    My favorite read this week was The Fifteenth Pelican by Tere Rios Please come see what else I’m reading.

  6. ragoblogger permalink
    April 29, 2012 10:23 pm

    I am in awe of Always Gold and in total love with Some Nights. You have such awesome music taste.

  7. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out permalink
    April 29, 2012 11:35 pm

    Sounds like the YA or Bust event was fantastic
    Have fun reading!
    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

  8. April 30, 2012 5:33 am

    I love Barbara Kingsolver but have only read The Poisonwood Bible and The Lacuna. Will be interesting to see what her other books are like.

  9. April 30, 2012 5:38 am

    I don’t think I’ve ever been in a fancy high school, but I love the fact that YA authors held an event at a high school! How cool is that?!? Enjoy your new books!

  10. April 30, 2012 6:18 am

    Oh, it looks like you had a great reading week! I wish we had more author events in my area. Have a great week!

  11. April 30, 2012 6:25 am

    I always feel so invigorated after meeting favorite authors, and what a wonderful time you had with these. I haven’t read any of their books, but I guess I should!

    Thanks for sharing, and enjoy your week.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  12. April 30, 2012 8:25 am

    The YA or Bust tour sounds like a blast. I love all three authors but have only met Stephanie Perkins. I did not realize she wrote Lola first- interesting! Looking forward to reading Isla next year. If I Say and The Disenchantments are both wonderful. Hope you enjoy them!

    I may have to come back and join the Reviewathon. Love that idea.

  13. April 30, 2012 8:53 am

    That is SO awesome that they were at a local highschool. I don’t think I ever saw authors (well-known ones) come to schools in Central FL.. But maybe they do now. :D

  14. April 30, 2012 9:04 am

    Wow. Awesome week. Congrats.

  15. April 30, 2012 3:00 pm

    Sounds like a wonderful event! I liked The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart. Sometimes YA books don’t have enough significance to them to be great book discussions, but I think that one might work well. Let us know!

  16. April 30, 2012 4:33 pm

    Can’t wait to see what you thought of Anne of Green Gables – it’s my all-time favorite book!

    Have a great week!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

  17. May 3, 2012 3:44 pm

    What a cool event! Our high school never had anything as awesome either. Love the bold, colorful inscriptions.

  18. May 3, 2012 3:45 pm

    Oh, and I really liked Prodigal Summer but it did take me awhile to get into it.

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 607 other followers

