Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (04.15.12)

April 15, 2012

I try not to do one of these posts if I haven’t posted any other bookish content on the blog in the last week… but I have many new books I want to share! So, I’m just gonna do one anyway :)

EDIT: Also, there are still a couple days left in my Spring Cleaning Giveaway! Closes Wednesday night.

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. Carry Me by Morgan Page & Nadia Ali
2. St. Croix by Family of the Year
3. Light Years feat. Richard Walters by Morgan Page
4. Daylight by Matt & Kim
5. Addicted feat. Greg Laswell by Morgan Page

I’ll be perfectly honest, the Morgan Page is an artist I wouldn’t know anything about if it hadn’t been for work. But I really truly love the new album and have been listening to it nearly obsessively.

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

I picked up two books, which I’m saving for the 24hr Readathon next weekend:

Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley (I got this for the last readathon, but I didn’t get around to it that day. My plan for this readathon is to read my own books, but I’m going to need something like this for the late hours when my eyes are all Agh! No more words!)

What You Wish For: Stories & Poems for Darfur (I had never even heard of this YA anthology before stumbling across it at the library, but it sounds really great. Meg Cabot, John Green, Ann M. Martin and RL Stine in the same book? Yes please!)

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in April by Cindy @ Cindy’s Love of Books.

I had my birthday this past week, which means SHINY NEW BOOKS.

Gifts:
I’ve Got Your Number by Sophie Kinsella
Naked Heat by Richard Castle

Gift card purchases:
Jane by April Lindner
The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
The Ask & The Answer by Patrick Ness
Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness

Bookish accessories:
Personal Library Kit
Austen quote candle

The Gift Card Purchases are books I’ve already read and loved, and I cannot express just how excited I am to finally own the Chaos Walking trilogy. It’s taking all I have not to drop everything else I’m reading and re-read those suckers. And those library kits? I actually got two of them, one from my husband and one from my wonderful book club, so I am all set to lend out soooo many books!

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
Perfect by Sara Shepard

Posted:
Mark your calendars: Reviewathon!

Currently Reading:
Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery
House of Mirth by Edith Wharton
Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta

Up Next: No idea, just going to focus on getting those three finished.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

39 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2012 4:03 pm

    Naked Heat (LOVED it) and Sophie Kinsella. You are right up my alley. I do hope you review it. Enjoy!

  2. cindyloveofbook permalink
    April 15, 2012 5:04 pm

    Happy Birthday to you. You got some great books I will have to look for those library kits. Enjoy :)

  3. April 15, 2012 7:10 pm

    Hope you had a lovely birthday! Always great to get new books – YAY!
    Enjoy your reading this week.

  4. April 15, 2012 7:37 pm

    I have never read anything by Richard Castle. I have not yet read the Ness series either but they are on my “someday” list. I hope you find something wonderful to read next week. Happy reading!

    • April 16, 2012 10:01 am

      If you watch the show Castle, then the Richard Castle books are a must! The pretty much read like an episode of the show.

  5. April 15, 2012 7:42 pm

    I hadn’t heard of Perfect before but it looks like 1 I’d really like. Thanks for sharing.

    My WrapUp

    • April 16, 2012 10:01 am

      It’s the third book in the Pretty Little Liars series. I haven’t watched the TV show, but the books are like crack!

  6. April 15, 2012 8:25 pm

    Well happy birthday! You made quite the haul! Look at those great books AND the Chaos Walking series! That is a score and I LOVE that candle!

    • April 16, 2012 10:02 am

      My mom MADE that candle holder! I’m so amazed at it. It’s so pretty and glow-y when the candle is lit.

  7. April 15, 2012 8:35 pm

    I admire that you can read so many at once! I don’t have that in me, I find I get confused.

    I hope you enjoy Naked Heat, I’ve read all the books so far due to my love of the TV series. The third one was definitely the best to date!!!

    • April 16, 2012 10:03 am

      I really need to finish one of the so I’m back to just two books at a time – that’s my idea amount. That’s encouraging to hear that the Castle books just get better! I’m excited to read this one.

  8. April 15, 2012 9:56 pm

    Enjoy your books. My favorite read this week was Sapphique by Catherine Fisher. Please come see what else I’m reading.

  9. April 15, 2012 10:17 pm

    Happy birthday for last week – there is nothing better than birthday books!!!! :)

    • April 16, 2012 10:04 am

      Thanks! As I told my husband, a birthday without books is just a sad day ;)

  10. April 16, 2012 4:54 am

    I just finished listening to Sophie Kinsella’s The Undomestic Goddess – it was hysterical. I have I’ve Got Your Number on my tbr list. I’m hoping to get the audio of it.

    Hope you are enjoying Anne of Green Gables…it’s my absolute favorite! I also love the idea of a Reviewathon – I have plans that weekend, but might be able to participate for part of it. I am always behind on reviews!

    Hope you have a great week!
    Kristin @ Always With a Book

    • April 16, 2012 10:05 am

      The Undomestic Goddess was one of my first Sophie Kinsella books! You definitely need to try out her others – they’re all ridiculously hilarious.

  11. April 16, 2012 5:12 am

    I read a rave review of the Kinsella book last week so I hope you enjoy it!

  12. Andra permalink
    April 16, 2012 5:14 am

    Happy Birthday! May your year be full of books and coffee! :)

  13. kaye permalink
    April 16, 2012 5:27 am

    Happy Birthday! The Kinsella is bound to be a lot of fun. Enjoy your new books.

  14. April 16, 2012 6:11 am

    Happy belated birthday! I love the Scott Pilgrim series. If you’re listening to Morgan Page obsessively, I think I’ll give it a try. Have a great week.

    • April 16, 2012 9:50 am

      MP is totally different from what I usually listen to, but its dancyness seems perfect for summertime.

  15. April 16, 2012 6:27 am

    I loved I’ve Got Your Number…hope you do too!

    And happy belated birthday….enjoy your week!

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  16. April 16, 2012 6:35 am

    Happy birthday! I’ve got your number is on my wish list. Happy reading!

  17. April 16, 2012 8:06 am

    Enjoy! your books and Happy Birthday!

  18. bethbookaholicmom permalink
    April 16, 2012 10:39 am

    Happy Birthday! Those library kits will be handy to have. I love the candle! I’ll have to put the new Kinsella on my wish list. I hear it is very good!

  19. April 16, 2012 8:28 pm

    Happy Birthday! Looking forward to joining in with your Reviewathon. I so need to catch up! xx

  20. April 16, 2012 11:13 pm

    Happy Birthday! I LOVED the new Kinsella and I really hope you do too!

  21. Stepping Out of the Page permalink
    April 17, 2012 8:16 am

    Happy Birthday! I think that you got some fantastic books! I look forward to seeing what you think of Kinsella’s newest, I love what I’ve read by her. I’m really excited to see what you think of The Chaos Walking Trilogy too, I’m desperate to read it!

    New to your blog!
    Stephanie @ Stepping Out of the Page

  22. April 17, 2012 6:21 pm

    i love (and OWN!) that personal library lending kit! i ordered it a few years back when i started lending my own books to my students. it’s so cute and the kiddos think it’s quaint. enjoy those books and happy birthday!

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 607 other followers

