Skip to content

Weekly Round Up (03.25.12)

March 25, 2012

These were my 5 most listened to tunes from the last week, according to last.fm:

1. We Are Young by fun.
2. Benson Hedges by fun.
3. Be Calm by fun. (UGH so good)
4. All The Pretty Girls by fun.
5. Don’t Com Easy by Matt Wertz (this album is pure summertime music to me, so with the sun starting to come out more often, this songs are getting a bit more play.)

So yes, that’s what I’ve been listening to. A lot of fun. There are a few songs on the new fun. album that I absolutely love, but it’s also been making me want to revisit their first album.

Starbucks | iTunes Pick of the Week: It seems my Starbucks hasn’t had any new download cards for weeks and weeks. Sad :(

Library Loot is hosted by Claire at The Captive Reader and Marg at Reading Adventures.

Picked up one book from the library last week:

Second Helpings by Megan McCafferty

While I didn’t love Sloppy Firsts, I didn’t hate it and I really really really want to know what happens next in Jessica Darling’s life. And I want to get the allure of Marcus Flutie, because I really didn’t get it after the first book.

Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted in February by Anna @ Diary of an Eccentric.

I also had one book come in the mail last week:

The House of Mirth by Edit Wharton

This is the Reading Buddies pick for April over at Erin Reads. I loved Age of Innocence when I read it a couple months ago, so I’m really looking forward to readingThe House of Mirth. It’s been a while since I’ve joined a Reading Buddies readalong and I am excited about this one.

“It’s Monday What Are You Reading” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Finished:
For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund

Posted:
The Brightest Star in the Sky by Marian Keyes

Currently Reading:
Anne of Green Gables by LM Montgomery (It feels like I’ve been reading this for forever, and I’m learning that I shouldn’t read things on my phone. It’s far too easy to get distracted.)
The Sari Shop Widow by Shobhan Bantwal (This may become a DNF, because I’m am finding it so very dull. But the cover is very pretty, so it’s at least nice to look at.)
Second Helpings by Megan McCafferty

Up Next: Hmmmm I want to reread The Fault in our Stars by John Green for book club, so I’ll probably do that next.

What are you reading and listening to? Did any new books find their way into your possession?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 1:45 pm

    Fun. has become one of my new favourite bands, which is sad given I need to catch up on their albums! But awesome because I get to listen to more of them. Great picks!

    • March 28, 2012 4:02 pm

      They only have one previous album, so catching up won’t take long :) But you should also check out the lead singer, Nate’s old band, The Format.

  2. March 25, 2012 4:26 pm

    I’m going to have to listen to “Fun” now. Bah.

  3. March 25, 2012 6:51 pm

    I remember enjoying The House of Mirth a lot. Hope you like it. I finished up Anne of Green Gables and I’m going to make a real effort to get my thoughts posted this week.

  4. ragoblogger permalink
    March 25, 2012 7:17 pm

    I love Anne of Green Gables. Such a cute story.

  5. March 25, 2012 7:28 pm

    I just picked up The Fault In Our Stars on audio…. enjoy the week :)

  6. March 25, 2012 7:39 pm

    One of my irritations in life is books with great covers…but little else!

    Here’s my
    It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
    Hope you will stop by!

  7. ragoblogger permalink
    March 25, 2012 7:45 pm

    I thought Glee did pretty well singing We are Young too :) http://youtu.be/ul-pLYo5MJ8

  8. March 25, 2012 8:05 pm

    Hmm – I may have to look into Marian Keyes based on your review. :-) Hope your reading gets better. Have a great week.

  9. March 25, 2012 9:02 pm

    Enjoy your reading this week!

    My Monday post is here

  10. March 25, 2012 11:42 pm

    The House of Mirth is a new one for me. Enjoy all your reads.

  11. March 26, 2012 12:23 am

    I agree with you about reading books on devices-I’ve been doing the same with Little Women! Hope you have a great reading week! Here’s my link: http://writingchristiannovels.blogspot.com/2012/03/hosted-by-book-journey-here-is-what-i.html

  12. March 26, 2012 4:17 am

    Mmmm…I don’t think I’ve ever read Edith Wharton. The fact that you want to re-read The Fault in Our Stars says a lot. Enjoy your reading week.

  13. March 26, 2012 4:34 am

    I’m disappointed The Sari Shop Widow isn’t better – I had high hopes for that book.

  14. March 26, 2012 5:45 am

    I hope you enjoy the Reading Buddies book. I have The Sari Shop Widow on my reader. Sorry you’re not enjoying it. I’ll still give it a try one of these days.

  15. March 26, 2012 6:04 am

    I’ve heard a lot of great things about The House of Mirth. Happy reading!

  16. March 26, 2012 6:55 am

    I haven’t read Edith Wharton, but I have at least 1 of her books on my shelf. Happy reading!

  17. March 26, 2012 7:42 am

    I want to reread the Anne of Green Gables books…and Edith Wharton is one I want to read, but haven’t yet. Enjoy!

    The Fault in our Stars is on my list.

    Here’s MY MONDAY MEMES POST

  18. March 26, 2012 9:54 am

    It’s a shame when a pretty cover is holding a dull book.

    My favorite read this week was the audio version of Shutter Island. Please come see what else I’m reading.

  19. March 27, 2012 1:40 pm

    I finished the awesome A Grown Up Kind of Pretty on audio.
    I want to start something new but my heart is craving a Hunger Games reread.

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers

