Skip to content

Wrapping Up October 2011

November 9, 2011

October was a fantasticly bookish month. I hosted my very first book blogging event, went to my very first and second author events, and joined in on my 5th 24hr Readathon. Plus, I read a ton.

From October 14 – 16, I hosted a Reviewathon and it turned out to be a really productive and fun weekend. I managed to get 9 reviews done over the three days (woot woot!), but the best part of the weekend was chatting with all the other participants on twitter. A few people said they would like to do another one sometime, so I’ve decided to host a Spring 2012 Reviewathon. I hope to announce the dates soon, but in the meantime if you would like to get an email reminder when it gets closer, please fill out this form: REVIEWATHON SPRING 2012

And yes! My very first author events! At the beginning of the month I went to the Smart Chicks Kick It event (highlight: Chatting with Sara Zarr for a couple minutes and having her sign my copy of Once Was Lost) and at the end of the month I went to see Maureen Johnson (who is hilarious and exactly same in person as she is on Twitter). But my favourite part of these events? Meeting up with local bloggers! I went to Smart Chicks with Jenny, and went to Maureen Johnson with Raych and afterwards we met up with Caitlin & Lindsay. I’ve been doing this book blogging thing for over 2 years now, but it’s only been in the last couple months that I’ve met any other bloggers in real life. And you know? It is awesome. Bookish gushing and ranting and recommendations and lending. If you have opportunities to meet up with other book bloggers, following through with those meet ups comes highly recommended by me.

I think that’s enough rambling for now. On to what I read last month! I usually only finish 6-7 books per month, so I’m very happy with what I accomplished in October.

Finished
Anna & The French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett
The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson
What Happened to Serenity?  by PJ Sarah Collins
The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
French Milk by Lucy Knesley
The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
The Secret Lives of People in Love by Simon Van Booy
After You by Julie Buxbaum

Posted
The Name of the Star by Maureen Johnson
Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón
Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke 

Misc
Soundtrack Saturday – Shadow of the Wind
Reviewathon Day 1, Day 2, Day 3
Fall 2011 Read-a-thon Updates

How was your October? Did you have a favourite book?

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 9, 2011 6:38 am

    October was one busy month for you!

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

