Skip to content

Soundtrack Saturday – The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte by Syrie James #2

April 2, 2011
tags:

Soundtrack Saturdays an opportunity to share a song I think would fit on the soundtrack for the book I’m currently reading.

Feel free to join in! Either leave your soundtrack pick or the link to your soundtrack post in the comments.

From the author’s website:
Charlotte Brontë—although poor, plain, and socially unconnected—possesses a deeply passionate side which she reveals only in her writings, creating Jane Eyre and other novels that stand among literature’s most beloved works. Living a secluded life in the wilds of Yorkshire with her sisters Emily and Anne, their drug addicted brother Branwell, and an eccentric father who is going blind, Charlotte dreams of a real love story as fiery as the ones she creates…

Soundtrack Song: “World At Large” by Modest Mouse
For last week’s soundtrack song, Charlotte was haunted by a separation that seemed almost too painful to bear. This time, she’s been grieving the deaths of her beloved siblings and her emotions thrown into turmoil by a surprising declaration of love. It’s been a time of restlessness, unease, and sadness. All things that “World At Large” captures.

I like songs about drifters, books about the same,
They both seem to make me feel a little less insane.
Walked on off to another spot,
I still haven’t gotten anywhere that I want.
Did I want love? Did I need to know?
Why does it always feel like I’m caught in an undertow?

What song would you add to the soundtrack for this book or the one you’re currently reading?

To check out previous Soundtrack Saturday posts, click here

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 6, 2011 12:44 pm

    I loved “The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte”. I’m reading Gaskell’s biography of Charlotte right now.

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 607 other followers

