Skip to content

Monday Round Up (01.04.10)

January 3, 2010

on_mondays“What are you reading on Mondays” is a weekly event hosted by J. Kaye that lets you share books you’ve read over the past week and books you have coming up.

Since it’s been quite a while since I’ve done one of these (err…over a month), this is going to be more of a monthly round up list.

Books I’ve read since since November 30th:
* Finally finished Watership Down by Richard Adams. Final thoughts can be found here.
* There a Petal Silently Falls by Ch’oe Yun – a thoroughly enjoyable set of three stories originally written in Korean and translated into English.
* A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens – mandatory Christmas reading, which I finally read for the first time this year.
* The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini – I didn’t enjoy this one as much as A Thousand Splendid Suns, but still a wonderful, thought-provoking read.
* Those Left Behind (Serenity) by Joss Whedon – this Serenity graphic novel was a Christmas gift to my husband (yes, given by me); was an enjoyable afternoon read, but not extraordinary.
* The Prairie Bridesmaid by Daria Salamon – looked promising, but sadly didn’t live up to my expectations. I may not even do a final post about this one, haven’t decided yet.
* The Third Elevator by Aimee Bender – a very sweet and clever little book.
* Night Runner by Max Turner – my first completed book of 2010! Full post on this one coming soon.

Currently Reading:
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon – this one’s going to take me a while, but I’m enjoying it so far.

Library Loot is hosted by Eva at A Striped Armchair and Marg at Reading Adventures.

I went to the library this past week for the first time in ages! And in my search for books I realized they’ve done some rearranging, part of which included an expanded YA section. This will come in super handy for both the YA and Library challenges :)

Anyway, since I’m in the middle of reading a chunkster, I limited myself to checking out only three books: Austenland by Shannon Hale, Night Runner by Max Turner, and Seven Up by Janet Evanovich.

sb10067729n-003Mailbox Monday is a weekly event hosted by Marcia at The Printed Page.

Over the Christmas break I got one book in the mail and two under the tree.

Mail: Cult Insanity by Irene Spencer (won from Christine at BookTumbling)

Tree: The Forgotten Garden by Kate Morton and The Prairie Bridesmaid by Daria Salamon

What are you reading? Have any books made their way into your home this past week (or month)?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. January 3, 2010 11:00 pm

    The Outlander is a good one; it’s got a big cult following and lots of sequels.

  2. January 4, 2010 3:39 am

    I’m reading Outlander too. So far, so good!

  3. January 4, 2010 4:46 am

    I gave Those Left Behind and another Serenity graphic novel to my hubby last Christmas, as we are big Firefly/Serenity fans. I really enjoyed it — it filled in some gaps in the series and movie. I loved The Kite Runner. There a Petal Silently falls really interests me.

    Happy reading! :-)

    Mine is here

  4. stacybuckeye permalink
    January 4, 2010 6:08 am

    So glad you’re reading Outlander. It’s one of my favorites.

  5. January 4, 2010 6:23 am

    You have read some excellent books! I am hoping t get to the Outlander series soon! My Monday:http://www.rundpinne.com/2010/01/what-are-you-reading-mondays-first-of.html

  6. January 4, 2010 6:40 am

    You have quite the list of finished books there. That’s really great!

    Hope you have a good reading week this week too! :D

  7. January 4, 2010 9:40 am

    you’ve been busy…happy reading

  8. January 4, 2010 10:21 am

    I’ve heard great things about Cult Insanity.

    Hope you enjoy ALL of your books!

  9. January 4, 2010 12:39 pm

    Happy reading this week!

  10. January 4, 2010 12:40 pm

    You had an outstanding week! You go! I dearly love whatever Joss Whedon puts out. He’s a fave.

  11. vmlay permalink
    January 4, 2010 1:09 pm

    I was doing a lot of catching up this week too! Austenland was really good I thought and I love Gabaldon’s books!

    http://vmlay.wordpress.com/

  12. January 4, 2010 4:23 pm

    The Outlander is one of my favorite books of all times! I hope you like it-don’t give up on it!! (It took me a few tries to get through it.)

  13. January 4, 2010 5:13 pm

    janet evanovich’s stephanie plum cracks me up! maybe i’m partial because i live in new jersey and love tasty cakes like stephanie.

    sounds like you’ve got your hands full of books. i’ve read a few of the ones you listed. i’ll be looking forward to some reviews in the upcoming months!

  14. January 4, 2010 5:36 pm

    I really want to get started on the Outlander series too, it’s just intimidating, LOL.

    Happy reading!
    Mel

  15. January 4, 2010 8:37 pm

    Elizabeth – All the hype has made me really curious about the books. I’m liking the first one so far :)

    Mary – Glad to hear you’re also liking it so far!

    Stephanie – They’re great hubby gifts! I’ve heard that the second graphic novel is better than the first. I may have to track down that one for his birthday.

    stacybuckeye – It’s fun finding out for myself what all the fuss is about :)

    Jennifer – I’m only a quarter of my way through the first book, but I can already tell you it’s good :)

    Ruthie – Thanks, I’m looking forward to getting to my new ones!

    sagustocox – Yes, it’s so great to have a fresh wave of book come in :)

    Kim V – Me too, I’m really looking forward to reading that one.

    Tam – Thanks, you too!

    J. Kaye – Oh how I wish all those books where read in one week, but I still managed 4 in the last week.

    vmlay – I’m glad you liked Austenland. I don’t really remember how or why it ended up on my to-read list, but it looks interesting!

    Colette – Okay, I’ll keep at it :) I’ve read just over 200 pages so far, and I’m really enjoying it. Although, I may take a break here and there to read some quicker books so I still feel like I’m making some reading progress.

    Nat – I love the Stephanie Plum books! I’ve been trying to space them out and read only a few a year. Otherwise I would go nuts and read all of them at once, and there would be no Stephanie left. Well, at least not until Evanovich writes another one :)

    Mel – I totally understand that, but for some reason I joined the Outlander challenge, so now I have to read all of them! hehehe. Hearing everyone rave about them made me curious enough to crack open the first one.

  16. January 7, 2010 4:44 am

    You’ve got some great looking reading ahead of you. And yay for a newly arranged/expanded YA section at the library!

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

