Skip to content

Teaser Tuesday (09.29.09)

September 29, 2009

teasertuesdays31Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly event hosted by MizB at Should Be Reading. It’s easy enough to play along, just follow theTeaser Tuesdays link for rules.

My teaser this week comes from Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice.

He was the proudest, most disagreeable man in the world, and every body hoped that he would never come there again. Amongst the most violent against him was Mrs. Bennet, whose dislike of his general behaviour, was sharpened into particular resentment, by his having slighted one of her daughters. (p. 7)

Mr. Darcy, you’ve got to work a bit harder at making friends.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. September 29, 2009 9:55 am

    Oh, that’s an awesome quote! Good one to pull. I love the book, of course, but my favorite Austen novel is actually Persuasion. Enjoy Pride and Prejudice (and check out Pride and Prejudice and Zombies when you have time)!

    Here’s my teaser.

  2. September 29, 2009 10:49 am

    Mr. Darcy, so under appreciated! I love this book. If you want to wander down my road I’m home.

  3. September 29, 2009 10:54 am

    Great teaser from a great book!

  4. September 29, 2009 10:56 am

    Oh yeah, Pride and Prejudice and Zombies has just ruined (in a good way!) P and P for me! I can’t read a quote now from the original and mentally put the word “unmentionables” in there somewhere!! I love your little line in response to your teaser! Made me laugh.

  5. September 29, 2009 12:03 pm

    Ah, one of my all time favourite books. Nothing beats the classics. My teaser is here: http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/09/puzzle-king-teaser-tuesdays.html

  6. September 29, 2009 12:07 pm

    Oh, this is an excellent book. I started reading it once, and have meant to pick it up again. I insist on finishing the original verstion before reading the, uh, zombie adaptation!

    My teaser:
    http://aliteratus.blogspot.com/2009/09/teaser-tuesday-harriet-spy-by-louse.html

    • September 29, 2009 12:18 pm

      Me too! I keep being tempted by all these sequels and adaptations, but I really wanted to read the original first.

  7. September 29, 2009 12:15 pm

    Celia – Persuasion is still on my list of classics to read.

    Kaye – I’m looking forward to learning more as a read the book!

    Beth – Thanks! I’m really enjoying it so far.

    Lisa – I wanted to make sure I read the original before diving into all the other versions and sequels. I feel like this is opening up a whole new set of books that I can add to my to-read list!

    Jennifer – It’s true, classics are classics for a reason :)

  8. September 29, 2009 12:50 pm

    lol love the quote! great choice in teaser and book. I love P and P. It will always be a classic :)

    • September 30, 2009 12:16 pm

      Daughter-slighting is obviously the worst offense imaginable in Mrs. Bennet’s eyes. :)

  9. September 29, 2009 1:58 pm

    Great quote, even better book. ;-)

  10. stacybuckeye permalink
    September 29, 2009 2:22 pm

    Mr. Darcy is so misunderstood.

  11. September 29, 2009 2:35 pm

    I had forgotten how good a writer she is. It’s been a while since I’ve read Jane Austin. Nice teaser.

  12. September 29, 2009 5:05 pm

    Ooohhh!!! I LOVE Pride and Prejudice! Excellent choice this week :)

  13. September 29, 2009 5:33 pm

    P&P! I knew it when I read the teaser before looking at the title. Good one!

  14. September 29, 2009 7:15 pm

    He sounds like my soon-to-be husband.

    :-)

  15. September 29, 2009 7:29 pm

    Ahh Mr. Darcy. How could you not love that man? I’m glad the Bennett’s had to take back their ill thoughts of him at the end of the book. :)

  16. September 29, 2009 7:37 pm

    What’s sad is I have yet to read this book. I really must because I totally enjoyed your teaser =)

    • September 30, 2009 12:12 pm

      You really should read it! This is my first time reading it and I’m liking it a lot – enough to already recommend it :)

  17. September 29, 2009 7:47 pm

    I love P&P! Great part in the book!

  18. September 30, 2009 11:34 am

    I finally read P&P last year..really enjoyed it..hope you do too. :)

  19. September 30, 2009 11:46 am

    A great teaser from a wonderful book! I love Pride & Prejudice! I hope you’re enjoying it!

  20. September 30, 2009 12:32 pm

    ThAnks for visiting yesteday!!

  21. October 1, 2009 1:18 pm

    P&P is one of my favorites! Great teaser. :-)

  22. cjz111 permalink
    October 2, 2009 8:44 pm

    Perfect teaser for Mr. Darcy. Though I have to admit I have a crush!!!

I <3 Comments

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

